Latics won’t appeal McManaman red

Callum McManaman after being given his marching orders at Bournemouth
Callum McManaman after being given his marching orders at Bournemouth

WIGAN Athletic will not be appealing against the red card given to Callum McManaman at Bournemouth on Saturday.

The Latics forward had only been on the field for less than four minutes as a second-half substitute when he was shown a straight red for a sliding challenge on Bournemouth’s Brett Pitman.

McManaman appeared aggrieved that a tasty tackle on him from Pitman moments earlier had been deemed fair by referee Graham Scott.

And his retaliatory lunge, which saw him win the ball with his leading foot but catch the player with his other leg, saw the official quickly brandishing red.

The incident provoked ugly scenes at the Goldsands Stadium with virtually all 22 players, plus both benches, getting involved.

Owen Coyle’s initial thought was that his player had been extremely hard done-by.

“We all saw what happened, but I was one yard form the incident and Callum clearly won the ball,” the Latics chief fumed after the game.

“There is no doubt his momentum took him into the lad, but there was no intent.

“We will certainly be appealing against it, because I feel the referee got it wrong.”

However, he has today revealed that the club won’t be appealing. While Coyle still doesn’t believe that the foul warrented a red card, he says he understood why the referee made the decision he did.

He said: “I still don’t think it was a red, but to overturn it has to be a glaring error and while I don’t agree I can see why the ref gave it.”