In pictures: Winners of the 2019 Wigan Education Awards

There were cheers and tears as the excellence of pupils, teachers, volunteers and schools was celebrated at the annual Wigan Observer and Wigan Post Education Awards

Tuesday, 25th June 2019, 5:38 pm
he winners pictured with the Mayor of Wigan Coun Steve Dawber

Excited staff and pupils along with the new borough mayor Coun Stephen Dawber packed into host Wigan and Leigh College’s conference room to discover which 12 nominees had triumphed in this year’s hotly contested competition.

Skye Burney wins Primary School Pupil of the Year and received her prize from Steven Downham-Clarke, vice-principal of category sponsor Myerscough College
Beth Molyneux wins Secondary School Pupil of the Year at Wigan Education Awards. She is presented with her prize by Winstanley College principal Louise Tipping

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

St Wilfrids CE Primary Academy wins Sustainable School of the Year and received their prize from Sharon Williams of category sponsor NSG Group
The Inspirational Teaching Award was awarded posthumously to Deanery High teacher Joe Nolan. His widow Debbie Nolan accepted the prize from St John Rigby College vice-principal James Gresty
Jennifer Green wins the Sports Achievement Award at Wigan Education Awards and is pictured with Tom Flower from category sponsor Wigan Athletic Community Trust
Standish Community High School win the School Trips Award. HLSA Joanne Ackers receives the prize from Sam Mason of category sponsor Go Ape
Alex Austin won the Young Scientist/Engineer of the Year and received his prize from David Coates from BAE Systems
St Josephs Catholic Primary won the Career Aspiration Award. Deputy head Vicki Gleeson accepts the prize from Ben Sudworth of category sponsor MBDA Missile Systems
St Catharines CE Primary wins the Health and Wellbeing Award at Wigan Education Awards. Pupils accepted their prize from the Mayor of Wigan, Coun Stephen Dawber
Louise Cherry wins the Unsung Hero Award. She received her prize from Ian Collins of category sponsor IL Security Shutters
St Wilfrids CE Primary wins Primary School of the Year and were presented with their prize by Karen White of category sponsor PTS
Standish Community High School wins Secondary School of the Year. Staff and pupil representatives received their award from Anna Dawe, principal of category sponsor Wigan and Leigh College