Health Trusts to join forces

WIGAN Borough’s health trusts have been named as part of the new Greater Manchester PCT cluster group.

Both Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust (WWL) and Ashton, Leigh and Wigan PCT (ALWPCT) are two of the 19 trusts which will make up the cluster group.

The North West has been split into five cluster groups, with Cumbria, Pan Lancashire, Merseyside and Cheshire joining Greater Manchester.

The clusters are designed to help with the Governments plans to have GP lead healthcare across the UK.

The Department of Health say the clusters will enable a clear line of accountability, providing greater security for the delivery of current PCT functions in terms of statutory duties, quality, finance, performance and NHS Constitution requirements through to March 2013.

They also say the cluster will provide space for developing GP Commissioning Consortia to operate effectively.

The chief executive and chair of the Greater Manchester PCT cluster will be Mike Burrows, who is currently the chief executive of NHS Salford, and Prof. Eileen Fairhurst, who is currently the chair of NHS Salford.