List of borough election hopefuls

Wigan's election count
Wigan's election count
Share this article

THE race to become Wigan’s next MP will be contested by seven candidates in next month’s general election.

Five hopefuls will be contesting the Makerfield and Leigh seats, respectively.

In Wigan, Labour’s sitting MP Lisa Nandy will be challenged by Mark Bradley (UK Independence Party), Richard Clayton (Liberal Democrat), Caroline Kerswell (Conservative), Brian Parr (Independent), Will Patterson (Green) and Gareth Fairhurst (Wigan Independents).

Coun Fairhurst, who represents Standish ward on Wigan Council, is bidding to hold both a parliamentary and local government seat.

In Makerfield, Labour’s incumbent Yvonne Fovargue faces competition from Andrew Collinson (UK Independence Party), Philip Mitchell (Green Party Stop Fracking Now), John Skipworth (Liberal Democrat) and Zehra Zaidi (Conservative).

In Leigh, shadow health secretary Andy Burnham will be challenged by Stephen Hall (Left Unity - Trade Unionists and Socialists), Les Leggett (UK Independence Party), Louisa Townson (Conservative) and Bill Winlow (Liberal Democrat).

The full list of local election candidates will be published later today (Friday).