Recognition for special students

Proud parents, staff, governors and, of course, students gathered at Winstanley College for their annual awards evening.

Friday, 19th May 2017, 4:59 pm
Updated Sunday, 4th June 2017, 9:32 pm
Winners at Winstanley College annual Awards Evening

A number of special awards were presented, the first being for Outstanding Progression to Connor Clarke a former student of Byrchall High.

Connor is a tremendous ambassador for film studies who always exhibits an enthusiasm and love of the subject, combined with an impressive work ethic.

The Alumni Award, this year was sponsored by former student Richard Lawson who has had a successful career with the BBC.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

It was presented to Lucy Hickey, a former St Peter’s High student. Lucy is an A* student who has had an incredible impact on the media and film department.

She has mentored a number of students throughout the time she has been here and been an integral member of Winstanley TV.

Lucy will now benefit from having Richard as her own alumni contact, which will help create networks.

George Dougherty, who went to St Bedes’ High, picked up the The Governors’ Award for Academic Achievement, whilst Lizzy Bywater achieved the Barry Marshall Award for her unusual ability as both talented English student and budding engineer.

Gabriel Westhead a former St Edmund Arrowsmith pupil collected the ‘most worthy student’ award for facing every challenge with determination and for seeking feedback on how to develop, improve and progress.

A new award in memory of a much-loved colleague, Elaine Mulroy, was presented to Grace Callaghan. The award recognises effective debating skills and is presented to an individual with the leadership potential to rule the world.

The last special award was the Principal’s Award for Contribution to the College and Community andwent to Hollie Garven, a past Deanery pupil, from the media and performing arts department.

She was nominated by her teachers for being one of the most motivated, dedicated and reliable students they have ever had.

Each subject area also gave out awards to their most deserving student and sports teams were also recognised.

The evening was then rounded off with a speech from special guest and local MP Yvonne Fovargue.