Wigan MP Yvonne Fovargue resigns from the frontbench

Yvonne Fovargue MP
Yvonne Fovargue MP

Wigan MP Yvonne Fovargue has become the latest MP to resign from Labour’s frontbench.

The Makerfield MP had been the shadow minister for consumer affairs and science.

In her letter to Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn, she wrote: “Although I respect you as a man of principle it has become increasingly evident during recent campaigns that the electorate in my constituency are not convinced that you can lead Labour to victory in a general election.

“In this volatile period for politics it is essential that the leader of the Labour Party can connect with all areas of the country and I do not believe that this can be achieved under your leadership.”

Wigan MP Lisa Nandy and Leigh MP Andy Burnham remain in the shadow cabinet.

Yesterday, Mr Burnham posted on Twitter: “At an uncertain time like this for our country, I cannot see how it makes sense for the Opposition to plunge itself into a civil war.

“I have never taken part in a coup against any Leader of the Labour Party and I am not going to start now.

“It is for our members to decide who leads our Party & 10 months ago they gave Jeremy Corbyn a resounding mandate. I respect that & them.”

Labour leader Mr Corbyn lost 12 members of his shadow cabinet on Sunday, with a string of junior frontbenchers following their lead in quitting in protest at his leadership.

A motion of no confidence is set to be considered at the Parliamentary Labour Party meeting, with the possibility of a secret vote on Tuesday.

This morning he has made a series of appointments in an effort to shore up his position.

Former shadow defence secretary Emily Thornberry will replace Hilary Benn, who was sacked as shadow foreign secretary in the early hours of Sunday morning.

And Diane Abbott replaces Heidi Alexander, who quit as shadow health secretary.