Farrell makes the Lions squad

Wigan's Owen Farrell has been named in the Lions squad.

Wednesday, 19th April 2017, 1:29 pm
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 6:35 pm
England's Owen Farrell toured with the Lions four years ago

But the England No.10 has missed out on the captaincy to Wales’ Sam Warburton, who will lead the Lions for a second consecutive tour.

Many expect Farrell – who toured four years ago – to be in the starting side during the three-Test series in New Zealand, following his starring performances for England.

Owen’s dad, Warriors legend Andy Farrell, is on the Lions coaching team, while another Wiganer – Paul Stridgeon – is the head strength and conditioning coach.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Owen Farrell as an Under-14s junior with Wigan St Pat's

The squad consists of 22 forwards and 19 backs, with Maro Itoje the youngest player at the age of 22.

Coach Warren Gatland said: “Sam is a great player, an outstanding leader and a winning Lions captain. We believe that Sam’s experience and leadership qualities make him an obvious choice as captain. He has earned the respect of his peers and coaches through his resilience, tenacity and hard work.”

New Zealand-born Ben Te’o, who has represented Queensland in rugby league’s State of Origin, is included in the Lions squad.

Lions squad 2017:

Owen Farrell as an Under-14s junior with Wigan St Pat's


Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales

Elliot Daly – Wasps, England

Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, Lions #778

Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, Lions #780

Leigh Halfpenny – Toulon, Wales, Lions #775

Robbie Henshaw – Leinster Rugby, Ireland

Stuart Hogg – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, Lions #783

Jonathan Joseph – Bath Rugby, England

Conor Murray – Munster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #790

George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, Lions #792

Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England

Jared Payne – Ulster Rugby, Ireland

Jonathan Sexton – Leinster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #791

Tommy Seymour – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland

Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England

Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England

Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales

Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales

Ben Youngs – Leicester Tigers, England, Lions #799


Rory Best – Ulster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #793

Dan Cole – Leicester Tigers, England, Lions #794

Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, Lions #779

Tadhg Furlong – Leinster Rugby, Ireland

Jamie George – Saracens, England

Iain Henderson – Ulster Rugby, Ireland

Maro Itoje – Saracens, England

Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales, Lions #761

George Kruis – Saracens, England

Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England

Joe Marler – Harlequins, England

Jack McGrath – Leinster Rugby, Ireland

Ross Moriarty - Gloucester Rugby, Wales

Sean O’Brien – Leinster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #796

Peter O’Mahony – Munster Rugby, Ireland

Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales

Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England

CJ Stander – Munster Rugby, Ireland

Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales, Lions #786

Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, Lions #787

Billy Vunipola – Saracens, England

Sam Warburton (Captain) – Cardiff Blues, Wales, Lions #800