Caldwell picks up LMA award

Latics boss Gary Caldwell is celebrating the latest addition to the club's honours list after being named League One manager of the year at last night's LMA awards.

Tuesday, 17th May 2016, 7:56 am
Updated Tuesday, 17th May 2016, 10:01 am
Gary Caldwell

The Scot led Latics to a return to the Championship at the first time of asking, with the club taking the division by storm and securing the title.

Latics picked-up 87 points on their way to the title, enjoying 24 wins and an unbeaten run stretching from December to April.

Claudio Ranieri was rewarded for leading Leicester to their improbable Barclays Premier League triumph by being crowned the League Managers Association manager of the year.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The 64-year-old becomes only the second non-British manager to win the prestigious accolade, after Arsene Wenger, who won it in both 2002 and 2004.

Ranieri, who was also named Barclays Premier League manager of the year, had already picked up three manager of the month awards in the course of his side’s remarkable campaign, and was named Italian manager of the year in his homeland last month.

He succeeds Eddie Howe, who took the overall award last year after leading Bournemouth into the Premier League, pipping Jose Mourinho, who had to settle for the top-flight title.

Ranieri’s spectacular success in his first season with Leicester came despite widespread predictions he would struggle after replacing Nigel Pearson in the summer.

LMA chairman Howard Wilkinson said: “My congratulations go to the LMA manager of the year sponsored by Barclays, Claudio Ranieri who, in his first year as manager of Leicester City, has achieved the most astonishing of sporting triumphs and thoroughly deserves all the recognition and praise being bestowed upon him tonight.”

Brighton’s Chris Hughton took the Sky Bet Championship award, a little over an hour after his side’s 1-1 draw with Sheffield Wednesday ended their promotion hopes with a 3-1 aggregate play-off loss.

Chris Wilder took the League Two award after guiding Northampton to promotion. Wilder has since left Northampton for Sheffield United.