Four Latics player in PFA League One Team of the Year

Wigan Athletic and Blackburn's exciting race for the title has seen the two north west clubs dominate the Professional Footballers' Association's League One Team of the Year.

Wednesday, 18th April 2018, 10:12 am
Updated Wednesday, 18th April 2018, 10:16 am
Will Grigg is one of the four Latics players included

Latics and Rovers are entrenched in a nervy battle to become champions and eight of the XI players come from those two teams.

Wigan have conceded a paltry 27 goals this season, less than anyone else, and as a result defenders Nathan Byrne and Dan Burn have been recognised by their peers as the best in their positions during the 2017-18 campaign.

Nick Powell has scored 15 goals in 37 appearances from midfield while Will Grigg has been on fire again, banging in 18 goals in 39 games and they also take their place in the XI.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Blackburn also have four players selected with Charlie Mulgrew and Amari’i Bell, who joined from Fleetwood in January, being picked in the defensive positions.

Bradley Dack has had a fine season, scoring 16 goals from midfield, with Danny Graham matching that tally. Both men have also added seven assists.

Dean Henderson is the sole representative of Shrewsbury’s fine season, which also sees them contesting automatic promotion. The goalkeeper has kept 14 clean sheets and produced several man-of-the-match displays.

Peterborough’s Jack Marriott has arguably been the standout player in the division, firing in 26 goals in 42 games, leading to boss Steve Evans suggesting he will earn a big-money move in the summer.

Walsall’s Erhun Oztumer completes the XI, performing admirably in a struggling side. The Turk has scored 14 goals and added seven assists.