Robins test up first for Latics

Latics players celebrate promotion to the Championship
Latics players celebrate promotion to the Championship
Share this article

Wigan Athletic will kick-off their return to the Championship on August 6 with a long trip down to Bristol City.

The fixture list, released this morning, has given Latics an interesting start to life back in the second tier, with Owen Coyle’s Blackburn Rovers providing the opposition for the first home game on August 13.

It’s a reasonable festive period for Latics fans travelling-wise, kicking-off with the visit of Ipswich on December 17 being followed by trips to Rotherham on Boxing Day and Derby on New Year’s Eve, before rounding-up with a home game against Huddersfield on January 2.

The derbies with Preston will take place on September 24 (away) and February 18 (home), while the campaign will conclude with the visit of Leeds United on May 7.

Latics fans will also have a couple of horror trips, with the away games at Norwich (September 13) and Ipswich (April 4) both scheduled for midweek, with 7.45pm kick-offs.

All fixtures are subject to change due to TV coverage, details of which will be confirmed in due course.

Latics will also find out their opponents in round one of the League Cup, which will be announced at 1pm.


August 8 Bristol City (a) 3pm

August 13 Blackburn Rovers (h) 3pm

August 16 Birmingham City (h) 7.45pm

August 20 Nottingham Forest (a) 3pm

August 27 Queens Park Rangers (h) 3pm

September 10 Sheffield Wednesday (a) 3pm

September 13 Norwich City (a) 7.45pm

September 17 Fulham (h) 3pm

September 24 Preston North End (a) 3pm

September 27 Wolverhampton (h) 7.45pm

October 1 Brentford (a) 3pm

October 15 Burton Albion (h) 3pm

October 18 Leeds United (a) 7.45pm

October 22 Brighton (h) 3pm

October 29 Cardiff City (a) 3pm

November 5 Reading (h) 3pm

November 19 Barnsley (a) 3pm

November 26 Huddersfield Town (a) 3pm

December 3 Derby County (h) 3pm

December 10 Aston Villa (a) 3pm

December 13 Newcastle United (h) 7.45pm

December 17 Ipswich Town (h) 3pm

December 26 Rotherham United (a) 3pm

December 31 Derby County (a) 3pm

January 2 Huddersfield Town (h) 3pm

January 14 Burton Albion (a) 3pm

January 21 Brentford (h) 3pm

January 28 Queens Park Rangers (a) 3pm

January 31 Norwich City (h) 7.45pm

February 4 Sheffield Wednesday (h) 3pm

February 11 Fulham (a) 3pm

February 14 Wolverhampton (a) 7.45pm

February 18 Preston North End (h) 3pm

February 25 Nottingham Forest (h) 3pm

March 4 Blackburn Rovers (a) 3pm

March 7 Birmingham City (a) 7.45pm

March 11 Bristol City (h) 3pm

March 18 Aston Villa (h) 3pm

April 1 Newcastle United (a) 3pm

April 4 Ipswich Town (a) 7.45pm

April 8 Rotherham United (h) 3pm

April 15 Barnsley (h) 3pm

April 17 Brighton (a) 3pm

April 22 Cardiff City (h) 3pm

April 29 Reading (a) 3pm

May 7 Leeds United (h) 12pm