Rooney elbow - captain’s view

Share this article

WIGAN captain Gary Caldwell admits he couldn’t care less that Wayne Rooney avoided punishment for THAT elbow on James McCarthy.

Rooney yesterday avoided an FA rap for catching McCarthy during Manchester United’s 4-0 victory at the DW on Saturday – despite referee Mark Clattenburg having only a peripheral view of the incident.

Television replays clearly showed the England striker Rooney swiping McCarthy on the back of his head after the midfielder had appeared set to block his run.

At the time Clattenburg awarded a free-kick and, after contacting the official, the FA were told he feels he administered the appropriate action – which leaves the governing body powerless to launch disciplinary proceedings against Rooney.

But while many Latics fans will have been left seething at the apparent miscarriage of justice, Caldwell does not support retrospective punishment – as the ‘wronged’ party rarely sees any benefit.

He told the Evening Post: “The problem with that is if he gets banned and misses a game against a team round about you in the league, and United drop points, you can end up being punished twice.

“If we’d have got the decision at that time in the game, 10 minutes in, then great. That would have helped us a lot.

“But after the event, nothing’s going to affect Wigan – so I’m not really bothered what happens to Wayne Rooney or Manchester United.”