Wigan Athletic dominate EFL award nominations

Wigan Athletic star Nick Powell has been shortlisted for the League One Player of the Year award alongside Blackburn midfielder Bradley Dack and Peterborough striker Jack Marriott.

Tuesday, 3rd April 2018, 7:33 pm
Updated Tuesday, 3rd April 2018, 7:36 pm
Nick Powell and Sam Morsy are two of the Latics stars who have been recognised by their peers

Powell is also one of four Wiganers in the League One ‘Team of the Year’, along with Sam Morsy, Dan Burn and Nathan Byrne.

All 72 EFL managers were invited to vote for their players of the season, with votes also compiled for the Championship and League Two Teams of the Year.

Loan players were not considered, which possibly explains the omission of on-loan Latics goalkeeper Christian Walton.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The individual awards will be handed out at a glittering awards dinner on Sunday week in London.

Championship Player of the Season shortlist: Thomas Cairney (Fulham), Ruben Neves (Wolves), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham).

League One Player of the Season shortlist: Bradley Dack (Blackburn Rovers), Jack Marriott (Peterborough United), Nick Powell (Wigan Athletic).

League Two Player of the Season shortlist: Adebayo Akinfenwa (Wycombe Wanderers), Mohamed Eisa (Cheltenham Town), Billy Kee (Accrington Stanley).

EFL Young Player of the Season shortlist: James Maddison (Norwich City), Ruben Neves (Wolves), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham).

Championship Team of the Year: John Ruddy, Ryan Sessegnon, Conor Coady, John Terry, Ryan Fredericks, Tom Cairney, Ruben Neves, James Maddison, Bobby Reid, Matej Vydra, Albert Adomah. Manager: Neil Warnock

League One Team of the Year: David Raya, Nathan Byrne, Charlie Mulgrew, Dan Burn, Omar Beckles, Graham Carey, Bradley Dack, Sam Morsy, Jon Nolan, Nick Powell, Jack Marriott. Manager: Paul Hurst.

League Two Team of the Year: Lee Burge, Dan Potts, Alan Sheehan, Jordan Willis, Jack Stacey, Michael Bostwick, Luke Berry, Sean McConville, Adebayo Akinfenwa, Danny Hylton, Billy Kee. Manager: John Coleman.