Previous Grand Finals: How Wigan Warriors have fared in the past

Paul Kendrick looks at Wigan Warriors' previous appearances in the Grand Final at Old Trafford...

Wednesday, 10th October 2018, 4:03 pm
Updated Wednesday, 10th October 2018, 5:08 pm
Warriors players celebrate winning the 1998 Grand Final

1998: Wigan Warriors 10 Leeds Rhinos 4: Jason Robinson was the hero of the inaugural Grand Final at the Theatre of Dreams against his hometown side, with the vital try in a tight game where defences were very much on top.

2000: St Helens 29 Wigan Warriors 16: A fine comeback from the Warriors, with tries from Andy Farrell, David Hodgson and Tony Smith, but it wasn’t enough to see off a Saints side who started and ended on top.

2001: Bradford Bulls 37 Wigan Warriors 6: A first-half blitz from the Bulls had the most one-side Grand Final all-but wrapped up by half-time, Adrian Lam crossing for Wigan’s only try on a forgettable evening.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

2003: Bradford Bulls 25 Wigan Warriors 12: Warriors couldn’t get revenge against Brian Noble’s Bradford with the boot of Paul Deacon destroying his hometown side, who’d been guided to the showpiece by Mike Gregory.

2010: Wigan Warriors 22 St Helens 10: Table-topping Wigan inflicted a fourth successive Grand Final loss on their local rivals, with Martin Gleeson scoring two tries against his former employers.

2013: Wigan Warriors 30 Warrington Wolves 16: Wigan hit back from 16-2 down to send Pat Richards back to Australia on a winning note, with Blake Green playing most of the game with a broken cheekbone after an unfortunate meeting with Ben Westwood’s fist.

2014: St Helens 14 Wigan Warriors 6: Will forever be remembered as the ‘Ben Flower’ final, with the Warriors’ prop’s second-minute dismissal for thumping a grounded Lance Hohaia hampering his side, who led at the break but couldn’t hold on.

2015: Leeds Rhinos 22 Wigan Warriors 20: A Grand Final record crowd of 73,512 saw the Rhinos edge home in controversial fashion, with Danny McGuire appearing to knock on in the lead-up to the match-winning score.

2016: Wigan Warriors 12 Warrington Wolves 6: Liam Farrell won the Harry Sunderland Trophy as Warriors defeated the League Leaders’ Shield winners in Mike Stephenson’s last match in the Sky commentary box.