Wigan Warriors duo in Super League Dream Team

Wigan duo Bevan French and Liam Farrell have been named in this year's Super League Dream Team.

Sunday, 22nd November 2020, 12:02 pm
Updated Sunday, 22nd November 2020, 12:05 pm
Bevan French and Liam Farrell

The pair, both on the shortlist for the coveted Steve Prescott Man of Steel, were the only Warriors picked in the fictitious line-up which has players from eight teams.

French was on Friday named the Rugby League Writers and Broadcasters Player of the Year as well as taking the main prize at the club's own awards.

The Super League Dream Team used to be selected by members of the media.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

But since last year the line-up is taken from the Man of Steel leaderboard (points are awarded in each game to the stand-out performers).

French has been a sensation for Wigan this season.

It is Farrell's third appearance in the Dream Team, and comes after a campaign in which he made the second highest number of clean breaks and carries in the competition. He was also third for tackles and metres gained, and fourth for clean breaks and tackle busts.

Steve Prescott Man of Steel panellist Jason Robinson, a former Wigan star, said: “There were so many good performances throughout the season - but if I had to choose one player from the games I have judged I would say Liam Farrell has been a stand out player for Wigan Warriors all season.

“In both attack and defence he has been Mr Dependable, with a consistently strong work ethic as is shown through his stats, particularly tackles and carries.”

Dream Team 2020:

Bevan French – Full Back (Wigan Warriors)

Krisnan Inu – Winger (Salford Red Devils)

Ash Handley – Winger (Leeds Rhinos)

Toby King – Centre (Warrington Wolves)

Konrad Hurrell – Centre (Leeds Rhinos)

Alex Walmsley – Prop (St Helens)

Mike Cooper – Prop (Warrington Wolves)

Aidan Sezer – Half Back (Huddersfield Giants)

Jonny Lomax – Half Back (St Helens)

Paul McShane – Hooker (Castleford Tigers)

Liam Farrell – Second Row (Wigan Warriors)

Kelepi Tanginoa – Second Row (Wakefield Trinity)

Morgan Knowles – Loose Forward (St Helens)