Big night for Warriors five

Matty Smith with the Challenge Cup
Matty Smith with the Challenge Cup
Share this article

FIVE of Wigan’s double-winning 2013 squad have been shortlisted for prizes at the Rugby League International Federation awards.

Included is Matty Smith, who is on a four-man list for the scrum-half award – despite not making the England squad for the World Cup.

Sam Tomkins (full-back), Josh Charnley (wing) and Sean O’Loughlin (loose forward) are also in the running in their respective categories, the RLIF confirmed yesterday.

Shaun Wane’s place in the running for Coach of the Year was revealed last week. He faces strong opposition from his Wigan predecessor, Michael Maguire, and NRL Premiership winner Trent Robinson. As well as the awards for the respective positions, the RLIF hand out other awards including Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year.

The dinner is held in Manchester tonight (Wednesday). Ex-Warrior Pat Richards was the winger of the year in 2010.

These awards are separate to the Golden Boot, which is handed out by Rugby League World magazine. RLW also publishes the World XIII.

Rookie of the Year shortlist: George Burgess, Boyd Cordner, Anthony Milford. Coach of the Year: Michael Maguire, Trent Robinson, Shaun Wane. Player of the Year: Danny Brough, Greg Inglis, Sonny Bill Williams. Referee of the Year: Ben Cummins, Shayne Hayne, Richard Silverwood.