Lockers is skipper again

SEAN O’Loughlin will lead Wigan in 2011 after the club decided to revert to a single captain for this season.

The loose forward has been re-appointed as skipper for the Warriors’ Super League defence, which begins with a derby against St Helens in Cardiff on February 12.

Last year, O’Loughlin shared the captaincy with five other members of a leadership team.

And while the Warriors will retain that group of senior players, only O’Loughlin will have the honour of leading Wigan on match-days.

Coach Michael Maguire confirmed: “We’ve decided to go with a single captain this season.

O’Loughlin, about to embark on his 10th season in Super League with his home-town club, was skipper of Wigan from 2006 until last year.

And while the England Test forward said he will be ‘honoured’ to lead the team again, he stressed that the other members of the leadership group will continue to play an integral part.

He said: “I think last year helped improve me as a player and as a leader – without the support of those lads it would have been hard to do.

“But the other members of the leadership group will still be doing the same things they did last year.”

Phil Bailey, George Carmont, Thomas Leuluai, Andy Coley, Joel Tomkins and O’Loughlin formed the leadership group last season. Ryan Hoffman will replace Bailey, who left to join Salford, in that senior group.