Month on the road no problem for Wane

Wigan's head coach Shaun Wane
Wigan's head coach Shaun Wane

SHAUN Wane insists the next few weeks away from the DW Stadium will be positively welcomed by his Wigan side.

Warriors are now facing four consecutive games on the road, including a trip to the south of France, Magic Weekend and then to Huddersfield and St Helens in the space of a month as resurfacing work on the DW pitch continues.

I’m not just bothered about the players being good players, I want them to have a good laugh

Shaun Wane

But despite Wigan’s poor record on their travels this season, Wane says he and his team are thoroughly looking forward to the coming weeks.

“We’ve got a few weeks now where we are away, and we really enjoy these trips,” he said.

“I’m not just bothered about the players being good players, I want them to have a good laugh.

“I want them to see things, I love travelling to places and I want the players to feel the same.”

Wane also admitted before his side set off for Catalans yesterday that away games to more far-flung opponents are a chance to enhance team spirit among the players.

“These trips are massively important to me, so when we’re on our travels we try and get a bit of cameraderie and make the team spirit better,” he said.

“Some of the players haven’t been to Barcelona so we use these trips as a chance to make the team a more bonded side, so I really push it that we spend a lot of time together, whether that be on the beach or getting coffees.”

Liam Farrell misses out on tomorrow’s clash after suffering a badly broken nose in last week’s defeat to Hull KR.

But prop Ben Flower returns to the fold after shaking off a hamstring injury and both captain Sean O’Loughlin and winger Josh Charnley are fit and able to retain their places in the squad.

As expected, full-back Matty Bowen has been named in Wane’s initial squad and is expected to line-up against the Dragons after having not played for two months.

Wigan Warriors 19-man squad:

John Bateman, Matty Bowen, Joe Burgess, Josh Charnley, Dom Crosby, Ben Flower, Ryan Hampshire, Rhodri Lloyd, Michael McIlorum, Lee Mossop, Sean O’Loughlin, Larne Patrick, Sam Powell, Dan Sarginson, Matty Smith, Ryan Sutton, Taulima Tautai, Joel Tomkins and George Williams.