Powell: Only winning every game will be good enough

Sam Powell
Sam Powell
Share this article

Blake Green and Eddy Pettybourne could be back in action tomorrow, and youngster Sam Powell has called on the squad to push down on the throttle when Wigan face Hull KR tomorrow night.

Green and Pettybourne are the first of a list of stars in the treatment room to return and have been named in Shaun Wane’s 19-man squad to travel to MS3 Craven Park.

Powell, who has played the last five games at hooker, is likely to keep his place as first choice No.9 Michael McIlorum sits out for at least another game, and the youngster has called for 
another strong performance after a 45-4 win over Salford in round 23.

“We can’t afford to lose now before the end of the year,” the 22-year-old told the Evening Post.

“We have done some good training. With no game last week everyone will be fresh.

“We’ve trained most of the week and it has been pretty full-on.

“We had an eye on the Hull game but we’ve also touched on things to improve our own game.”

A win tomorrow will put Wigan top on points difference until St Helens face Wakefield on Friday, and keeping the pressure on Warriors’ closest rivals in the race for the League Leaders’ Shield is important to everyone at the club according to Powell.

“Waney wants to win it and so do all the lads so there is a big emphasis on it and we can’t afford to slip up now,” he added.

Shaun Wane has assured youngsters like Powell and George Williams they will still be fighting for their places when more stars, such as McIlorum and Iain Thornley return, and has shown this by including both in this week’s 19.

“They have earned their right to be selected so will still be there fighting for their place,” said Wane.

“I had some selection headaches this week and we have some talent not in the squad.

“It is great competition for the players which will hopefully improve our performances.”

Warriors 19-man squad to face Hull KR 

John Bateman, Matt Bowen, Josh Charnley, Dom Crosby, Gil Dudson, Liam Farrell, Ben Flower, Anthony Gelling, Blake Green, Jack Hughes, Dom Manfredi, Sean O’Loughlin, Eddy Pettybourne, Sam Powell, Dan Sarginson, Matty Smith, Scott Taylor, Joel Tomkins, George Williams