Previous Grand Finals: How Wigan Warriors have fared in the past

Warriors players celebrate winning the 1998 Grand Final
Warriors players celebrate winning the 1998 Grand Final

Paul Kendrick looks at Wigan Warriors’ previous appearances in the Grand Final at Old Trafford...

1998: Wigan Warriors 10 Leeds Rhinos 4: Jason Robinson was the hero of the inaugural Grand Final at the Theatre of Dreams against his hometown side, with the vital try in a tight game where defences were very much on top.

2000: St Helens 29 Wigan Warriors 16: A fine comeback from the Warriors, with tries from Andy Farrell, David Hodgson and Tony Smith, but it wasn’t enough to see off a Saints side who started and ended on top.

2001: Bradford Bulls 37 Wigan Warriors 6: A first-half blitz from the Bulls had the most one-side Grand Final all-but wrapped up by half-time, Adrian Lam crossing for Wigan’s only try on a forgettable evening.

2003: Bradford Bulls 25 Wigan Warriors 12: Warriors couldn’t get revenge against Brian Noble’s Bradford with the boot of Paul Deacon destroying his hometown side, who’d been guided to the showpiece by Mike Gregory.

2010: Wigan Warriors 22 St Helens 10: Table-topping Wigan inflicted a fourth successive Grand Final loss on their local rivals, with Martin Gleeson scoring two tries against his former employers.

2013: Wigan Warriors 30 Warrington Wolves 16: Wigan hit back from 16-2 down to send Pat Richards back to Australia on a winning note, with Blake Green playing most of the game with a broken cheekbone after an unfortunate meeting with Ben Westwood’s fist.

2014: St Helens 14 Wigan Warriors 6: Will forever be remembered as the ‘Ben Flower’ final, with the Warriors’ prop’s second-minute dismissal for thumping a grounded Lance Hohaia hampering his side, who led at the break but couldn’t hold on.

2015: Leeds Rhinos 22 Wigan Warriors 20: A Grand Final record crowd of 73,512 saw the Rhinos edge home in controversial fashion, with Danny McGuire appearing to knock on in the lead-up to the match-winning score.

2016: Wigan Warriors 12 Warrington Wolves 6: Liam Farrell won the Harry Sunderland Trophy as Warriors defeated the League Leaders’ Shield winners in Mike Stephenson’s last match in the Sky commentary box.