Three and easy

Share this article

WIGAN stars Sean O’Loughlin and the Tomkins brothers, Joel and Sam, have been named in the 22-man England squad for the next Friday’s CarPlan International Origin Match against the Exiles at Headingley.

The ex-St Pats trio are three of 15 players who played in last year’s Four Nations in Australia and New Zealand included in a group which will go into camp on Sunday evening.

The seven players who did not feature Down Under include Jamie Peacock, the Leeds prop, and his club captain Kevin Sinfield, both of whom missed the trip through injury, and Huddersfield scrum-half Danny Brough, who is the only uncapped player in Steve McNamara’s squad.

“There are considerably more than 22 players in the engage Super League whose current form could justify England selection, which testifies to the high standard of the competition,” admitted McNamara.

“Even without injured players such as Leon Pryce, Ben Jones-Bishop and Ben Harrison, and the NRL-based players Gareth Ellis, Sam Burgess and Gareth Widdop, we have been able to select a squad which is both experienced and packed full of potential.”

All 22 players will join the England camp at Loughborough University next Sunday, and McNamara will reduce his squad to 18 for the match next Wednesday.

Thomas Leuluai, Pat Richards and George Carmont have already been confirmed in the Exiles squad, with the nine remaining spots to be confirmed by coach Brian McClennan tomorrow.

Pre-purchased tickets for the game start from £19 for adults and £12 concessions, and are available at or by contacting the RFL Ticket Office on 0844 856 1113. Tickets purchased on the day of the match start from £22 for adults and £15 for concessions.

England squad: Atkins (Warrington), Bridge (Warrington), Briscoe (Hull), Brough (Huddersfield), Carvell (Warrington), Crabtree (Huddersfield), Cudjoe (Huddersfield), Graham (St Helens), Hall (Leeds), Jones-Buchanan (Leeds), Morley (Warrington), Myler (Warrington), O’Loughlin (Wigan), Peacock (Leeds), Robinson (Huddersfield), Roby (St Helens), Shenton (St Helens), Sinfield (Leeds), Joel Tomkins (Wigan), Sam Tomkins (Wigan), Westwood (Warrington), Wilkin (St Helens).