Wane up against Madge for coach of the year

Shaun Wane and Michael Maguire
Shaun Wane and Michael Maguire
Share this article

SHAUN Wane has been nominated for the international coach of the year award and is up against former Wigan boss Michael Maguire.

The Warriors boss has enjoyed a superb 2013, winning both the Super League trophy and Challenge Cup.

Wane spent time as assistant to Maguire between 2010 and 2011. The Australian is now head coach of South Sydney and has led them to their most successful season in several generations.

Trent Robinson, head coach of NRL winners Sydney Roosters, is the final boss nominated for the award.

Wane, though, says it is a reflection on everyone at the Warriors, not just him: “It’s a testament to everyone at the club, all the backroom staff who have worked hard not just me.

“I’m not a big awards man but it is nice that somebody thinks I’m decent.”

The RLIF International Player of the Year award shortlists are as follows:

Player of the Year:

Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants and Scotland)

Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs and Australia)

Sonny Bill Williams (Sydney Roosters and New Zealand)

Rookie of the Year:

George Burgess (South Sydney and England)

Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters and Australia)

Anthony Milford (Canberra Raiders and Samoa)

Coach of the Year:

Michael Maguire (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Trent Robinson (Sydney Roosters)

Shaun Wane (Wigan Warriors)

Referee of the Year:

Ben Cummins (Australia)

Shayne Hayne (Australia)

Richard Silverwood (England)