Wembley team news: Lockers returns

Warriors skipper Sean O'Loughlin
Warriors skipper Sean O'Loughlin
Share this article

SEAN O’Loughlin, as reported by the Wigan Evening Post on Tuesday, is in Shaun Wane’s starting 13 for the Challenge Cup Final.

The Warriors skipper has missed the Warriors’ last two matches with a calf injury but as expected, has made his recovery to be match fit to face Hull FC.

Man of Steel Sam Tomkins gets the chance to play alongside one of his brothers at Wembley for the second time in two years, with younger brother Logan taking his place on the bench.

Hull’s Ben Crooks makes the starting line-up for the Airlie Birds after speculation he would miss the final with ankle ligament damage - his addition in the centre will be a major boost for the Yorkshire outfit given the youngster’s explosion onto the scene.

Ex-Hull KR forward Scott Taylor has earned his goal of earning a starting spot with his solid performances of late, also coming off the bench.

He is joined by Welshman Gil Dudson and Wakefield-bound Chris Tuson, with Lee Mossop earning a starting spot at prop in what will be his last Challenge Cup final before his move to Parramatta Eels.

Pat Richards is also making what will be his last Challenge Cup appearance for Wigan and will be aiming to take a second winner’s medal back with him to Wests Tigers.

Ben Flower is Wigan’s other starting prop, making his second appearance at Wembley after appearing for Wales in the 2011 Four Nations defeat against World Champions New Zealand.

The sides in full are:

Hull FC: Jamie Shaul; Jason Crookes, Ben Crooks, Kirk Yeaman, Tom Briscoe; Daniel Holdsworth, Jacob Miller; Mark O’Meley, Danny Houghton, Liam Watts, Gareth Ellis ©, Danny Tickle, Joe Westerman

Replacements: Andy Lynch, Richard Whiting, Aaron Heremaia, Jay Pitts

Wigan Warriors: Sam Tomkins; Josh Charnley, Darrell Goulding, Iain Thornley, Pat Richards; Blake Green, Matty Smith; Lee Mossop, Ben Flower, Harrison Hansen, Liam Farrell, Sean O’Loughlin ©

Replacements: Chris Tuson, Gil Dudson, Scott Taylor, Logan Tomkins