Wigan Warriors stars Matty Smith and Sean O’Loughlin make Dream Team

Matty Smith
Matty Smith
Share this article

MATTY Smith and Sean O’Loughlin are the Wigan Warriors contingent in this year’s Super League Dream Team.

Smith, who has impressed with consistently solid performances at scrum half for Warriors in 2014, is appearing in the Dream Team for the second time, while O’Loughlin has been voted in at loose forward for the fifth year in a row.

It is the third individual accolade Smith has earned in two years, having won the Lance Todd Trophy in 2013 for his man-of-the-match performance in the Challenge Cup Final win over Hull FC. He has made 29 starts in 2014, scoring seven tries, 111 goals and six drop goals, while O’Loughlin has led the champions 20 times this term on their way to finishing the regular season in second place.

Although the current champions finished the regular season in second, two positions above where they did last year, two representatives is the fewest Wigan have had in the Dream Team since Sam Tomkins was voted the only Wigan player to make the cut in 2009, when Wigan finished sixth.

The lineup, which was announced today at the Super League play-off launch at St Helens’ Langtree Park, is voted for by journalists for who they think the best players in the competition have been in each position during the season. Wigan begin their play-off campaign in similar fashion to last season when they take on Huddersfield Giants at the DW Stadium on Thursday. Warriors beat the Giants 22-8 on their way to Grand Final glory last season.

2014 Super League Dream Team:

Full-back: Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos)

Wing: Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos)

Centre: Michael Shenton (Castleford Tigers)

Centre: Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos)

Wing: Tommy Makinson (St Helens)

Stand-off: Kevin Brown (Widnes Vikings)

Scrum-half: Matty Smith (Wigan Warriors)

Prop: Jamie Peacock (Leeds Rhinos)

Hooker: Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers) P

Prop: Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves)

Second Row: Elliott Whitehead (Catalan Dragons)

Second Row: Carl Ablett (Leeds Rhinos)

Loose forward: Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors)