Williams happy wherever he is picked to play

Wigan's George Williams
Wigan's George Williams

LIVEWIRE halfback George Williams is enjoying his first-team stretch... even if he’s starring in an alien position.

The 19-year-old is ready to add to his seven appearances when Wigan travel to Hull FC tomorrow night.

And with first-choice halfbacks Blake Green and Matty Smith fit, Williams is content to take a bench spot – which is likely to include a stint at hooker.

With Logan Tomkins on loan at Salford until the end of the season, Williams has been helping provide cover from the bench for No.9 Mike McIlorum from the bench.

His debut at hooker came in a Super League match, but he is enjoying life at the coalface of the action.

“Hooker is new to me, but I’ll play anywhere,” the academy-product said. “I’d never played there before until the Hull KR game, that was the first time.

“It was a bit different. Defensively you have bigger bodies running at you, but I enjoy the physical side of it.

“I’m enjoying it, it’s been good.

“Shaun has given me a chance and I hope to stay in the team.”

Williams has lifted Wigan with his lively bursts, and Wane will be hoping for more of the same as they aim to get back to winning ways at the KC Stadium.

Their eight-game winning run ground to a halt at Headingley last Friday, and Williams added: “We weren’t too far off against Leeds, we were just a bit dumb at times, but we can improve those things and take it into the Hull game.”

Matty Bowen and Ryan Hampshire will be out of action for tomorrow’s clash at Hull.

Academy stars Ryan Sutton, Dom Manfredi and Connor Farrell join the squad.

Skipper Sean O’Loughlin is also still absentalong with Liam Farrell, Eddy Pettybourne, Josh Charnley and Ben Flower, Iain Thornley and Greg Burke.

Warriors 19-man squad to face Hull FC tomorrow:

John Bateman, Joe Burgess, Tony Clubb, Gil Dudson, Connor Farrell, Anthony Gelling, Darrell Goulding, Blake Green, Jack Hughes, Jordan James, Dom Manfredi, Michael McIlorum, Sam Powell, Dan Sarginson, Matty Smith, Ryan Sutton, Scott Taylor, George Williams.