When are the school holidays in 2020? Wigan term dates for spring, summer and autumn

School holiday dates have been announced for 2020 - here are they key dates for your diary.

Tuesday, 17th December 2019, 5:00 pm
Updated Tuesday, 7th January 2020, 1:43 pm

It's worth noting that academies, free schools, foundation schools and voluntary-aided schools set their own term calendars, which can differ from those set by the local authority, so you’ll need to contact them directly to find out what the holiday dates are.

However, these are the official term dates for Wigan schools this year.

Read More

Read More
Wigan school on brink of top marks

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Time to put the textbooks away, Christmas is almost here. Picture: Shutterstock

Term starts – Tuesday 7 January 2020

Mid-term holiday – Monday 17 February 2020 to Friday 21 February 2020

Term ends – Friday 3 April 2020

Summer Term

School holidays vary slightly, so it's best to contact yours directly if you are unsure. Picture: Shutterstock

Term starts – Monday 20 April 2020


May day - Friday 8 May 2020

Mid-term holiday - Monday 25 May 2020 to Friday 29 May 2020

Term ends – Friday 17 July 2020

Don't worry - the kids will soon be tearing out the school gates once again! Picture: Shutterstock

Autumn Term

Term starts - Wednesday 2 September 2020

October holiday - Monday 26 October 2020 to Friday 30 October 2020

Term ends - Friday 18 December 2020

Alternatively, you could just let the kids tell you when their holidays are....Picture: Shutterstock

For more information, visit the Wigan council website.

Even the most devoted students can't wait for the school holidays. Picture: Shutterstock