WhatsApp to disable messaging for users who do not accept new terms after May 15
The service will begin displaying a banner alert in the coming weeks, after a previous attempt earlier in the year was halted amid fears data on the app would be shared more closely with Facebook’s main social network.
Users who do not accept the new terms will still be able to receive calls and notifications for a “short time”, but messaging will not be possible.
There will be a chance to agree after the deadline and have full functionality restored, but WhatsApp warned that inactive accounts are generally deleted after 120 days.
“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th,” WhatsApp said.
“If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account.”
In the days that followed, rival messaging apps saw download numbers increase as some moved away from WhatsApp, leading the firm to clarify the nature of the change and delay its rollout.
The platform has reiterated that the update will not allow WhatsApp or Facebook to read or listen to messages sent by users and is focused on policy changes necessary to allow users to message businesses on WhatsApp.
It is thanks to our loyal readers that we can continue to provide the trusted news, analysis and insight that matters to you. For unlimited access to our unrivalled local reporting, you can take out a subscription here and help support the work of our dedicated team of reporters.