Wane warns Wakefield test will be tough

Shaun Wane admits he has had to bite his tongue ahead of today's trip to Wakefield.

Monday, 17th April 2017, 6:30 am
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 8:21 pm
Shaun Wane

Wane scrutinises their opponents’ recent matches to tailor their sessions to try and nullify their threats and exploit their weaknesses.

But the Warriors have only had one training session to prepare for this televised round 10 clash - a light field session yesterday - following their Good Friday derby triumph.

And he said: “We have to be smart with what we give the players, we have so much information we can get across but they can only take on so much in such a short period.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“The review of the Saints game was very short and to the point, and looking at Wakefield, we’ll give them one or two key points which we think will get us the win.”

Wakefield are a point behind fourth-placed Wigan, having won five of their nine matches so far.

Chris Chester’s side won their last home meeting by a mammoth 62-0 last year - when many of the Warriors players were battling a sickness bug.

“That was one of those... I’ve not even thought about it,” said Wane.

“It’s always tough going there. They play well at home, it’s hard to get a win there but we’ll take some confidence from the Saints win and move on.”

He has rested hooker Micky McIlorum, who made his long-awaited comeback in Friday’s win, and Joe Burgess.

Fringe forwards Joe Bretherton, Romain Navarrete and Nick Gregson are the mix.

Prop Tony Clubb has joined the casualty list with an injury described as a “lower back problem”. No time-frame has been revealed for his likely absence.

Oliver Gildart, John Bateman, Sam Tomkins, Lewis Tierney and Dom Manfredi also remain sidelined.

Of those, Tierney is likeliest to be next back - possibly as early as next Sunday’s home match against Catalans.

Wigan’s 19-man squad: Joe Bretherton, Tom Davies, Morgan Escaré, Liam Farrell, Ben Flower, Liam Forsyth, Anthony Gelling, Nick Gregson, Willie Isa, Tommy Leuluai, Liam Marshall, Romain Navarrete, Frank-Paul Nuuausala, Sean O’Loughlin, Sam Powell, Ryan Sutton, Taulima Tautai, Joel Tomkins & George Williams.