Borough MP resigns junior shadow minister role over Brexit second referendum vote

An MP from the borough has stepped down from her post as a junior shadow minister after voting against an amendment on a second Brexit referendum.

Friday, 15th March 2019, 7:19 am
Updated Friday, 15th March 2019, 10:13 am
Yvonne Fovargue MP

Yvonne Fovargue, who represents Makerfield in the House of Commons, did not follow Labour whips' instructions to abstain on the motion which had been put forward by The Independent Group.

Ms Fovargue was one of five junior shadow ministers who resigned over their votes to block the question of Britain's departure from the European Union (EU) going back to the public.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

They were asked to step down by Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn's office following the day of drama in Parliament and did so.

Ms Fovargue has repeatedly stated her opposition to a so-called People's Vote as a way of settling the issue of Brexit and represents a Leave-voting heartland.

She blamed prime minister Theresa May for the current state of the Brexit negotiations and said after listening to people living in Makerfield could not support putting the question back to the people.

Ms Fovargue: “I made it clear at the last general election that I respect the result of the referendum.

"Whilst much of the current impasse in Parliament is the fault of the Prime Minister who has refused to consider alternatives to her withdrawal agreement, I could not support a second referendum given the commitments I have made and from listening to the very many conversations, emails and letters that I have received from constituents.

“It has been a privilege to serve on the frontbench and I wish to thank Jeremy Corbyn and Andrew Gwynne for their support and I look forward to campaigning for a Labour Government.”

In total 17 Labour MPs voted against the amendment, which was defeated by 334 votes to 85.